Leaving You

from by Great Caesar



I can’t go on like this anymore, restless when I am at your side
So I’m leaving home for a distant shore, or whatever I may find
Ten years ahead lies the picket fence, three kids and all of my happiness
But I can’t pretend in the present tense -- won’t you understand, love?

I am leaving you anyway
So why don’t you smile?
I will come back for you someday so miss me for a while

My dreams are teaming with emerald hills, while I’m wrapped in sheets of kelly green
So I gaze and lean into windowsills, where my truth might yet be seen
You know that I’m not a selfish guy, this is the best for both of us
But you’re still so beautiful in my eyes -- won’t you wait for me, love?

I am leaving you anyway
(I am stronger so I)
So why don’t you smile
(So I am letting you go)
I will come back for you someday
(Someday might never arrive)
So miss me for a while


from Jackson's Big Sky, released March 25, 2016



all rights reserved


Great Caesar Brooklyn, New York

Indie rock band from Brooklyn, NY


contact / help

Contact Great Caesar

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code